This is an overview of the entire Old Testament. After an introduction to the Old Testament as a whole, looking at such things as the language and organization of the Old Testament, there are units on each of the four main divisions of the Old Testament in the English Bible, namely, the Pentateuch, the Historical Books, the Wisdom Books, and the Prophetic Books. In later courses in the curriculum, there are specialized courses on each of these four divisions.

By the end of this course, you will be able to:

  • Describe the formation of the Old Testament canon.
  • Summarise the message of the Old Testament.
  • List the main parts of the Old Testament.
  • Explain the theological contribution of each book of the Old Testament.
  • Discuss some major themes of each division of the Old Testament.